Sexual anhedonia

New members can only post here until they introduce themselves
emu567

Sexual anhedonia

Unread post by emu567 »

Hi,
I’m a 26 year old student . I have been hearing voices for the past 3 years . They are loud derogatory unpleasant and nasty.
I was prescribed mirtazapine and clopixol for the voices and depression.
I have noticed over the last year that I have put on loads of weight ( 3 stones in 6 months!) and become more and more numb .
I have a very low sex drive and cannot feel pleasure from physical touch or sex . I used to be able to orgasm and enjoy sex but now I barely feel any pleasure. I just feel completely cold. I’m also not attracted to anyone anymore.
This is new for me. My sex drive has always been lower but the antipsychotic/ antidepressant has completely destroyed it . Ive stopped taking the antidepressant and antipsychotic but still a month after the pleasure hasn’t returned
I find this lack of pleasure to be distressing, it also makes me resentful and jealous. I feel it is very unfair as a 26 year old to lose all feeling
Does anyone have any advice on how to cure this?
Flo

Re: Sexual anhedonia

Unread post by Flo »

Hi Emu, I'm sorry to hear about the problems you're experiencing. Take heart, 1-month is still a short time to have sexual dysfunction after stopping the drugs and things may still right themselves. Live as healthily as you can and take care of yourself emotionally in the meantime. If you can exercise, this is supposed to be helpful and may help you with the medication-weight, and just make you feel better.
I wish you all the best,
Flo
Brain food

Unread post by Brain food »

emu567 wrote: Thu Jul 21, 2022 6:27 am Hi,
I’m a 26 year old student . I have been hearing voices for the past 3 years . They are loud derogatory unpleasant and nasty.
I was prescribed mirtazapine and clopixol for the voices and depression.